Book Of Ecclesiastes

There is a time for everything, a season for every activity under heaven.

This has been my most favorite book in the bible for a very long time. The first time I read this book was on 8/29/2006.   My first time building a relationship with God. I was in jail for selling drugs. I love this book because it talks about all areas of life. It talks about death, deceit, lying, other people faithfulness or lack of. It also talks about the good things in life. Like, working hard, having everything that you want. It says in the book that everything that happens under heaven is meaningless. It really helped me in the time I was in trouble because I got the worst sentence for it being my first time in trouble.

During this season in my life, I did not like the fact I got the worst of it all. My thoughts were that why do I have to do all this time in jail, fight for freedom when there were so many people who got let off, and was not punished like I was. I really had a hard time of understanding why bad people had it all. When I knew in my heart I was a good person that made bad decisions, and got punished really bad.

This booked help me because it was meaningless. All of my thoughts about people and their decisions and how they were blessed and how I thought I was not was meaningless. Why?

It does not matter what other people get for their actions we all serve the same God, and he makes our plans. He determines our destiny.

I have heard my Pastor and church talk about how depressing this book was to them here recently. I did not understand why? I was thinking that maybe I misunderstood the book. No I did not. God was using king Solomon to talk about every season in life and how unjust life is. When we turn our eyes on God, it does not matter what happens on this earth, to you or anyone else. He is not saying that it is “meaningless” per say. He is saying My children let me take care of it. Give it all to me for I am the most powerful God in the Universe. there is nothing I cannot handle.

This book saved my freedom. I turned it all over to God during this time and I was saved from going to prison for 5 years.

Leave a Reply

